Useful Links




Motor Neurone Disease

Multiple Sclerosis

Parkinson’s disease

Psychogenic non-epileptic seizures


Subarachnoid (brain) haemorrhage

The history of The Ryder Briggs Fund

In 1963 when Ryder Briggs was a young man in his twenties and living in Sheffield, he died having been diagnosed with a low-grade brain tumour.  It was his mother’s wish (Madge Briggs) to encourage neuroscience research in Sheffield and she generously donated money to this cause.

This was the founding of The Ryder Briggs Neuroscience Research Fund (the RBNRF) and for over forty years the Trustees have carefully allocated awards to research applicants whose work contributes towards the advancement of neuromedicine within the Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust.  This research has far reaching consequences as it adds to the pool of national and international knowledge.

In the 1960s an MRI scanner was unheard of and Ryder Briggs would not have been offered the treatments and interventions that are available today.

As a result of technological innovation together with a significant development of laboratory, clinical and academic knowledgebase, patients now benefit from new discoveries in the diagnosis and treatment of neuromedical disorders thanks to funding from sources such as The Ryder Briggs Fund that make this possible.

Neuroscience Research Past and Present

Let us pause for a moment and consider the point in time where present day research in neuroscience is placed within the bigger picture.  Take a look at some of the pivotal discoveries dating back to 4000 BC up to the 21st Century:

Milestones in Neuroscience Research (Washington University)

Neuroscience Research in the UK (Cardiff Neuroscience Centre)

Previous projects funded by the RBNRF

Some of the initial award holders of funds include the following:

1980 Dr John Gumpert EEG project
1982-3 Dr Barbara Blaszczyk Acidity of Cerebrospinal Fluid and evoked potentials in Subarachnoid haemorrhage
1985-6 Mr Andrej Stawowy Oestrogen induced pituitary prolactinoma
1987-89 Dr Rosalind Kandler Magnetic Stimulation in Neurological Disease
1989-90 Mr Rodney Laing Vascular reactivity and autoregulation in subarachnoid haemorrhage
1995-98 Prof Harvey Sagar Subarachnoid haemorrhage
1996 Dr John Jarratt & Dr A Barker EEG project

For current and future projects please visit our ‘Aims and Achievements’ page.